Martin County West Schools Board of Education Independent School District #2448 Sherburn, MN 56171

Regular Meeting April 15, 2024 6:30 PM MCW Central Office

The Martin County West School Board met in regular session on April 15, 2024 at the Martin County West Central Office. The meeting was called to order by Board Chair Sarah Jagodzinske-Rohman at 6:30pm. Board members present were Laura Borchardt, Sarah Jagodzinske-Rohman, Nathan Vrieze, Jeff Scholl, and Mark Wohlhuter, and Danielle Wilmes. Absent was board member Darren Thate. Also present were Superintendent Cori Reynolds, Principal Autumn Welcome, Principal Michele Baker, and Principal/Community Education Director Nickole Bowie.

Visitors present were:Mary Whitehead, Sarah Glidden, Duane Youngwirth, Binylou Claussen, Kayla Zehms, Paul Schoen, Mryna Peters, Robin Carlson, Nikki Indegaard, Sharon Rosen, Noah Anderson, Jackie Royer, and Kathy Taylor.

Noah Anderson provided comments regarding 1:1 Technology Support.

Motion made by Mark Wohlhuter, motion seconded by Laura Borchardt to approve the agenda. Motion carried 6-0.

Approve Consent Agenda

- a. Approve the Minutes of the March 18, 2024 regular meeting as presented/with changes
- b. Approve the Minutes of the April 8, 2024 work session as presented/with changes
- c. Approve the March Payroll of \$608,676.92
- d. Approve the March Checks of \$178,891.20
- e. Approve the February 2024 Bank Reconciliation
- f. Approve hiring of the following:
 - i. Summer Firchau, Secondary English Instructor MA Step 5 beginning 2024-2025 School Year.
- g. Approve Leave for Tom Studer, beginning April 5, 2024 through approximately July 25, 2024.
- h. Approve the resignation of the following:
 - i. Morgan Bloomquist, ESP at the Jr/Sr High School, effective March 27, 2024.
 - ii. Cindy Guerdet, Cook at Sherburn Elementary, effective at the end of the 2023-2024 school year.
- i. Approve increase from step 8 to step 10 for Rhonda Thate, ESP at Sherburn Elementary, effective April 1, 2024.
- j. Accept the following donations

- i. \$1000 from Federated Rural Electric for Community Education Activity Scholarships
- ii. \$1000 from Federated Rural Electric for 50 Years of ECFE celebration
- iii. \$380 from Federated Rural Electric for math curriculum laminating supplies for Sherburn Elementary

Motion made by Jeff Scholl, motion seconded by Mark Wohlhuter to approve the consent agenda. Motion carried 6-0.

Non-Action Items

- a. Finance & Enrollment
- b. Referendum Communications Update

Motion made by Laura Borchardt, motion seconded by Danielle Wilmes to approve amending the 2024-2025 School year calendar. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion made by Nathan Vrieze, motion seconded by Danielle Wilmes to amend revised policy 416 to read "certified staff as described above" in the last sentence. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion made by Danielle Wilmes, motion seconded by Mark Wohlhuter to approve the second reading and adoption of revised policy 416. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion made by Laura Borchardt m/s by Nathan Vrieze to Approve the attached Resolution Relating to Appointing Election Judges and Absentee Ballot Board Members for the May 14, 2024 School District Special Election.

Members voting for Nathan Vrieze Danielle Wilmes Laura Borchardt Jeff Scholl Mark Wohlhuter Sarah Jagodzinske-Rohman

Members voting against none.

Motion carried 6-0.

Motion made by Nathan Vrieze m/s by Mark Wohlhuter to approve agreement with employee. Motion carried 6-0.

Reports/Non-Action Items Superintendent Cori Reynolds Principal Autumn Welcome Principal Michele Baker Principal & Community Education Director Nickole Bowie

Committee Reports were given by various members.

Dates to Remember March 27 - End of 3rd Quarter March 28-April 2 - Spring Break April 17, 2024 @ 5:00pm - Special School Board Meeting regarding Review and Comment May 20, 2024 @ 6:30pm - Regular School Board Meeting

Motion made by Jeff Scholl motion seconded by Danielle Wilmes to adjourn the meeting at 6:53pm. Motion carried 6-0.