Martin County West Schools Board of Education Independent School District #2448 Sherburn, MN 56171

Special Meeting August 8, 2024 4:45 PM MCW Central Office

The Martin County West School Board met in regular session on August 8, 2024 at the Martin County West Central Office. The meeting was called to order by Board Chair Sarah Jagodzinske-Rohman at 4:47pm. Board members present were Laura Borchardt, Sarah Jagodzinske-Rohman, Nathan Vrieze, Jeff Scholl, Mark Wohlhuter, Danielle Wilmes, and Darren Thate. Also present were Superintendent Cori Reynolds, Principal Autumn Welcome, Principal/Community Education Director Nickole Bowie, Tom Studer, Dave Eiynk, and Jordan Soderlind.

Visitors present were: Duane Youngwirth, Heather Leiding, Keith Studer, and Lisa Rienhardt.

Motion made by Mark Wohlhuter, motion seconded by Jeff Scholl to approve the agenda. Motion carried 7-0.

Pre-Termination Hearing of an Employee proceeded until 6:36pm when a recess was called. Meeting resumed at 6:42pm.

Meeting recessed at 8:11pm. Meeting resumed at 8:17pm.

Motion made by Jeff Scholl, motion seconded by Danielle Wilmes to proceed into a closed session at 8:19pm. Motion carried 7-0.

The board proceeded into closed session for preliminary discussion of allegations or charges against an individual subject to the School Board's authority pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 13D.05, subdivision 2(b) and based upon the attorney-client privilege pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13D.05, subdivision 3(b), to allow the School Board to meet with its attorney in a confidential setting to obtain legal advice regarding the allegations and the School District's defenses in an employment matter.

Motion made by Jeff Scholl, motion seconded by Nathan Vrieze to end closed session at 9:14pm. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion made by Jeff Scholl, motion seconded by Nathan Vrieze to adopt the resolution with respect to an employee as written. Members voting for: Mark Wohlhuter, Jeff Scholl, Laura Borchardt, Danielle Wilmes, Darren Thate, Nathan Vrieze, Sarah Jagodzinske-Rohman Members voting against: none Motion carried 7-0. Motion made by Jeff Scholl, motion seconded by Darren Thate to adjourn at 9:17 PM. Motion carried 7-0