Martin County West Schools Board of Education Independent School District #2448 Sherburn, MN 56171

Regular Meeting May 20, 2024 6:30 PM MCW Central Office

The Martin County West School Board met in regular session on May 20, 2024 at the Martin County West Central Office. The meeting was called to order by Board Chair Sarah Jagodzinske-Rohman at 6:30pm. Board members present were Laura Borchardt, Sarah Jagodzinske-Rohman, Nathan Vrieze, Jeff Scholl (arrived at 6:52pm), and Mark Wohlhuter, and Danielle Wilmes, and Darren Thate Also present were Superintendent Cori Reynolds, Principal Autumn Welcome, Principal Michele Baker, and Principal/Community Education Director Nickole Bowie.

Visitors present were:Mary Whitehead, Sarah Glidden, Noah Anderson, Sarah Striemer, Karen McConnell, Jean Burkhardt, Nate Klima, Tom Elliott, Hilary Elliott, Parker Anderson, Paul Schoen, Alice O'Connor, Kayla Zehms, Jolynn Janssen, Tracie Schumann, Cindy Sinbn, Dean Sinn, Chelsea Brolsma, Sami Jo Helmers Nelson, Helena Johnson, Stephanie Wohlhuter, Myrna Peters, Jackie Royer, Sheri Marquardt, Kathy Taylor, Brian Rode, Sharon Rosen, Cameron Kamlitz, Jill Williamson, Robin Carlson, Duane Youngwirht, Bing Claussen, and Judy Traetow.

Robin Carlson and Jean Burkhardt provided comments regarding the referendum.

Motion made by Mark Wohlhuter, motion seconded by Laura Borchardt to approve the agenda. Motion carried 6-0.

Consent Agenda

- Approve the Minutes of the April 15, 2024 regular meeting as with changes
- b. Approve the Minutes of the April 17, 2024 special meeting as presented
- c. Approve the Minutes of the February 13, 2024 Special Meeting as presented.
- d. Approve the April Payroll of \$704,238.76
- e. Approve the April Checks of \$330,699.85
- f. Approve the following donations
 - i. \$250 from Vote Yes for Martin County West
 - ii. \$200 from MCW CARE for libraries
 - iii. \$100 from MN FFA Foundation/Profinium for FFA
 - iv. \$600 from Martin County Pork Producers for Food Service
- g. Approve hiring of the following:
 - i. Kim Wubbena, District Operations Assistant, effective May 9, 2024.
 - ii. Arlene Hoomes, Step 1 Assistant Head Cook at Sherburn Elementary, effective 2024-25 school year
 - iii. Jennifer Beseke, Summer Kinder Camp Teacher, effective 6/1/24
 - iv. Jenna Steele, Summer Kinder Camp Teacher, effective 6/1/24

- v. Erin Morris, Summer Kinder Camp Teacher, effective 6/1/24
- vi. Brittany Bass, Summer Kinder Camp Teacher, effective 6/1/24
- vii. Michelle Thiesse, Summer Kinder Camp Teacher, effective 6/1/24
- viii. Adam Schorn, Jr/Sr High School Summer School Instructor at the Jr/Sr High. Effective June 10, 2024.
- ix. Logan Pankonin, Jr/Sr High School Summer School Instructor at the Jr/Sr High. Effective June 10, 2024.
- h. Approve the resignation of the following:
 - i. Kailey Palmentera, ESP at the Jr/Sr High School, effective April 22, 2024.
 - ii. Parker Haug, Jr/Sr High Band and Elementary Music Instructor. Effective at the end of the 2023-2024 School Year.

Motion made by Nate Vrieze, motion seconded by Danielle Wilmes to approve the consent agenda. Motion carried 6-0.

The following presentations were given:

- a. Finance & Enrollment
- b. Curriculum Presentations
 - i. Visual Arts
 - ii. Music/Band/Choir
 - iii. Physical Education/Health

Motion made by Laura Borchardt, motion seconded by Mark Wohlhuter to approve the attached Resolution Canvassing Returns of Votes of School District Special Election

Members Voting Yes: Nate Vrieze Darren Thate Danielle Wilmes Jeff Scholl Laura Borchardt Mark Wohlhuter Sarah Jagodzinske-Rohman

Members Voting No: None

Motion carried 6-0.

Motion made by Danielle Wilmes, motion seconded by Mark Wohlhuter to approve the Visual Arts Curriculum Proposal. Motion carried 6-1 with Jeff Scholl voting no.

Motion made by Laura Borchardt, motion seconded by Mark Wohlhuter to approve the Music/Band/Choir Curriculum Proposal. Motion carried 6-1 with Jeff Scholl voting no.

Motion made by Danielle Wilmes, motion seconded by Mark Wohlhuter to approve the Physical Education/Health Curriculum Proposal. Motion carried 5-2 with Jeff Scholl and Darren Thate voting no.

Motion made by Nate Vrieze, motion seconded by Danielle Wilmes to approve the MSHSL Membership Resolution. Members Voting Yes: Nate Vrieze Darren Thate Danielle Wilmes Jeff Scholl Laura Borchardt Mark Wohlhuter Sarah Jagodzinske-Rohman Members Voting No: None

Motion made by Laura Borchardt, motion seconded by Danielle Wilmesto approve the 2024-2025 Jr/Sr High School Handbook. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion made by Mark Wohlhuter, motion seconded by Danielle Wilmes to approve the 2024-2025 Jr/Sr High School Handbook. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion made by Nate Vrieze, motion seconded by Mark Wohlhuter to approve the 2024-2025 Sherburn Elementary Handbook. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion made by Mark Wohlhuter, motion seconded by Laura Borchardt to approve District Operations Assistant Kim Wubbena to Authorize Electronic Fund Transfers and all other bank transactions other than check signing effective May 20, 2024. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion made by Sarah Jagodzinske-Rohman, motion seconded by Nate Vrieze to table the adjustments to the 2023-2024 budget to a work season or special meeting. Motion carried 7-0..

Reports/Non Action Items
Superintendent Cori Reynolds
Principal Autumn Welcome
Principal Michele Baker
Principal & Community Education Director Nickole Bowie

Committee Reports were given by various members.

Dates to Remember

- a. Last day of School May 30, 2024
- b. ½ Day Staff Workshop May 31, 2024
- c. Graduation June 2, 2024, 2pm, MCW Jr/Sr High School
- d. Regular School Board Meeting June 17, 2024, 6:30pm, MCW Central Office
- e. Juneteenth District Holiday June 19, 2024

Motion made by Jeff Scholl, motion seconded by Danielle Wilmes to adjourn at 7:48pm. Motion carried 7-0.